Arkansas Governor's Quiz Bowl Association - www.arquizbowl.org

announcements

Coach of the Year and Friends of Quiz Bowl Memorial Scholarship Applications

Coach of the Year nomination form

Friends of Quiz Bowl Memorial Scholarship Application

Co-Op Coaches Meetings

Arch Ford—Co-op Tuesday, August 30, 2016 1-3 pm Johnny Barham johnny.barham@russellvilleschools.net

Arkansas River –Co-op –Tuesday September 6, 2016 in Board Room Dot Hubsch dhubsch@dewittdragons.net

Crowley’s Ridge—September 9 contact Austin Chlapecka achlapecka@bpsbearcats.com

Dawson—September 1 from 1-3 contact Steve Patterson steve.patterson@arkadelphiaschools.org

DeQueen/Mena Co-op -September 1 from 1-3 contact Hope Pierce- hpierce@ashdownschools.org

Great Rivers—Great Rivers on September 14th. In Forrest City EACC at 9 am - 11 Contact DeWanda Kirkland dkirkland@wmsd.net

North Central – Co-op –September 1, 2016 –1-3 Pam Braun pam.braun@norfork.k12.ar.us

North East—Co-op Friday, September 9, 2016 1-3 pm Deborah Adams deborah.adams@gctsd.k12.ar.us

North West – Sept 8 Thursday at 4:30 - 6:30 Contact Tyler Tvrz ttvrz@1hsd.org

OUR Cooperative Quiz Bowl Coaches' Meeting will be held on Tuesday, September 20, 2016 from 1:00 - 3:00. OUR –contact Monica Springfield mspringfield@cotterschools.net

Pulaski Co is at Pulaski Heights Middle is August 31 from 4-6 pm.contact Janet Buford janet.buford@lrsd.org

South Central— August 26 from 1-3 pm - contact Amanda McMahan. amanda.mcmahan@magnoliaschools.net

South East – September 8,1-3 at Co-op in Monticello Computer lab #1. Contact Jana Reeves janareeves@sbcglobal.net

South West – August 31 from 1-3 contact Kristina Gaylord kristina.gaylord@tasd7.net

Western—Friday, September 2, 2016 1-3 pm – Guy Fenter Western Co-op. Contact Rick Clow rick.clow@greenwoodk12.com

Wilbur Mills—Co-op Friday, September 9, 2016 Sarah Blake sblake@searcyschools.org

Registration forms 2016-17

Junior High Registration Forms for the 2016-2017 School Year.

Link to Jr. High pdf

Senior High Registration Forms for the 2016-2017 School Year.

Link to Sr. High pdf

Study Questions for Sale

NEW Sept. 2014, Jr. High Vol. III

Jr. High Vol. I and II; Sr. High Vol. II and III

Please see the Coaches Resources page.

about quizbowl

The Arkansas Governor's Quiz Bowl Association is an organization working for a competition that works under the umbrella of the Arkansas Activities Association (AAA). This means that academic competitions are regulated in much the same way as athletic events. This includes: school classification, eligibility, sanctioning of events and certification. Information about AAA can be found in the AAA Official Handbook. If you don't have one ask your principal, athletic director or contact AAA.

To Donate to Friends of Quiz Bowl

Please send donations for Friends of Quiz Bowl to

Vickey Johnson

164 Cates Lane

Beebe, 72012

Thank you for your support.

camp

Senior High Camp at 4-H Center in Ferndale on Nov. 18th-19th.

Senior High Camp Director - Sandra Elliott sandra.elliott@rattlers.org

Junior High Camps at Greene County Tech on Nov. 12th, Russellville Junior High on Dec. 10th and Dec. 10 at Arkadelphia High School

Junior High Camp Director - Debbie Adams djadams51@gmail.com

tournaments

Invitational Tournaments

2016 Cyclone Preseason High School & Junior High School Quiz Bowl Tournament on Saturday, September 24th

The Preseason High School Tournament on September 24th is currently full, but there are still slots available for the Junior High Tournament.

Friends of Quiz Bowl Invitational at Russellville High School--January 21, 2017
Contact Person - Johnny Barham Johnny.barham@russellvilleschools.net
More information will be posted as it becomes available

Subiaco Academy

Sr. High Invitational October 8th Registration Form

Registration fee due by September 30th.

Please Contact: Jared Schluterman at jschluterman@subi.org or 479-8947-6139 or Don Goetz at dgoetz@subi.org

Fort Smith

Maverick Junior High Tournament:
October 29th- Registration Form

Southside Senior High Tournament:
February 11th- Registration Form

Benton

Benton High School

Charles West Invitational Tournament

October 1 for small schools (classes 1-4) Registration Form

Holiday Blast Invitational Tournament

December 3 for larger schools (classes 5-7) Registration Form

Please Contact Brian West for more information bwest@bentonschools.org

Haas Hall Academy Mastiff Invitational
Senior High Quiz Bowl Tournament

October 8, 2016 Haas Hall Academy Starr Scholar Center Registration Form
Please Contact Tad Sours for more information tadsours@haashall.org

Huntsville High School Invitational
Senior High Quiz Bowl Tournament
Registration Form

November 12, 2016

Please Contact Tyler Tvrz ttvrz@1hsd.org

Greenwood

Senior high large school tournament for 5A-7A schools on Oct. 1

Junior high tournament on January 7 for all classifications

Registration form will be posted soon.

Please contact Rick Clow rick.clow@greenwoodk12.com

J.A. FAIR WAR EAGLE INVITATIONAL

Senior High Quiz Bowl Tournament on Sat. January 28, 2017 Registration Form

Please Contact LaKiella Washington LaKiella.Washignton@lrsd.org

Bearcat Sr. and Jr. High Invitational

January 28th
8:30 Registration
Senior High- 8 Team Round Robin w/Championship Game (4 round robin games, 1st place game against top teams in each division). Top two teams receive trophies.
Contact Austin Chlapecka at achlapecka@bpsbearcats.com if interested or for more information.

Morrilton Sr./Jr. High

January Quiz Bowl Jamboree 2017 Registration Form
January 14 Central Arkansas Tournament hosted by Morrilton Sr./Jr. High

Please Contact hopkinsp@sccsd.k12.ar.us

See All Invitational Tournament Dates for more information.

coaches resources

AGQBA is offering a great deal on old tournament questions to coaches for study materials (intended for individual schools NOT Co-ops).

This is a way for us to help you out with some practice material and at the same time offset the cost of some of the new things we are adding on the same overall budget we have had for the last 10 years.

Order now to receive a disk with a variety of all categories used in our typical matches for your teams to use for practice and study, all in Word 2003 Format! A real bargain at $100 per volume!

Senior high state site information.

videos

State Finals Videos

Quiz Bowl is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been an AETN tradition since 1985. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge in literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Teams from across the state compete for the chance to represent the Natural State in national tournaments.

Watch a State Finals video to see Quiz Bowl students in action!